Skip to main content

Task Templates

Create task templates with predefined lists, dependencies, and relative dates to standardize recurring workflows and quickly load complete projects

Task templates help you predefine recurring workflows and quickly load them into your projects. They include tasks and task lists with all the details you already know from tasks.

If you adjust a template afterwards, it won't affect the tasks and projects where you've already used the template.


Main benefits and use cases

When work repeats itself, it shouldn't have to start from scratch every time.

  • Standardize recurring workflows through predefined task lists and tasks

  • Start projects faster by loading complete templates into projects

  • Bring task details along directly, including familiar fields from tasks


Manage task templates

You'll find an overview of all your templates in Settings (gear icon in the bottom left of the main menu) > Templates.

Here you can create new templates or edit, duplicate, or delete existing ones using the action button.

Click on a template to open the details and edit the content.

Changes are applied immediately, so you don't need to save the entire template separately.


Create a new task template

  1. Navigate to Settings (gear icon in the bottom left of the main menu) > Templates.

  2. In the Task Templates section at the bottom, click + Add.

  3. Enter a name and description, and choose an icon.

  4. Click Save.

  5. You'll be taken to the template's detail page. There you can add task lists and tasks to the template.

Configuration options for tasks

Define dependencies

Choose which tasks this task should depend on. The required tasks that need to be completed first are automatically shown in the task details. In the timeline, they're represented by arrow connections.

Set relative start and end dates

Define via Start after creation and Due after creation how many days the start date and due date should be after the task is created. This is based on when the template is loaded into a project.

Use project role instead of user

If you choose a project role instead of a user, the first user with the defined role will be assigned when the template is used in a project.


Create a task template from an existing project

A new template can be created from the existing tasks and lists in a project. Follow these steps:

  1. Open the Tasks tab in your project.
  2. Click the action button in the top right above the lists.
  3. Select Save as template to save all lists as a template.

All task lists and their details are saved as templates and can be reused in other projects. Start and end dates can also be carried over.

Save individual lists as a template

  1. Open the action button for a task list.
  2. Select New task template to create a new template from this specific list.

Load task templates into a project

  1. Open the Tasks tab of a project.

  2. Click the + Task button in the top left.

  3. Select Import task templates.

All lists and tasks are then added to your project.

If you already have lists with the same names in your project, they'll be reused and the tasks from the template will be added to them.


Best practices and tips

  • Plan with relative dates if your timelines should always be oriented to the project start

  • Use project roles if tasks should be automatically assigned to appropriate team members on import

  • Set dependencies so tasks are ready to start only when the prerequisite work is done

  • Keep an eye on your list names because lists with the same name will be reused on import


FAQ

Where can I find all task templates?

You'll find an overview of all templates in Settings (gear icon in the bottom left of the main menu) > Templates. There you can create new templates and edit or delete existing ones.

Do changes to a template have a retroactive effect on projects?

No. If you adjust a template afterwards, it won't affect the tasks and projects where you've already used the template.

What determines the dynamic setting of a task's due date?

It's based on the creation date, meaning the day the task template was used.

What happens if my project already has lists with the same names?

Then the existing lists will be reused and the tasks from the template will be added to them.

What does the lock symbol in the action menu mean?

The lock symbol in the action menu next to New task template or Save as template indicates that the number of templates in your current plan is limited. You can only use this feature according to your available quota.

Last updated HappySupportPowered by happysupport.ai
© 2026 HappySupport. All rights reserved.
HappySearch can make mistakes.

Sources

No articles yet

Search to see source articles