Skip to main content

Manage Users

Invite users to your awork account via email and manage their roles, permissions, and access from the Users settings panel

Users in awork are always tied to accounts. You can't just create them on the fly – instead, you send invitations via email to unique, existing email addresses.

You'll find an overview of all users in Settings under Users.


How to use user management

Open the user overview

  1. Navigate to Settings (gear icon at the bottom left of the main menu).

  2. Select Users

Sort the list by email, name, position, role, status, weekly capacity – in ascending or descending order.

Choose which columns to display and use the filter icon to reveal filter options so you can filter by various criteria.

From the action button at the top right, you can export your user list.

Invite a new user

  1. Click the + Add button at the top left.

  2. Enter a unique, existing email address and send the invitation.

You need admin rights to invite new users, as this can affect your subscription.

To send invitations, you need to have enough users booked in your plan. If you don't, you'll see a notice. In the window, you'll also see how many more users you can invite.

During your free 14-day trial, you can invite as many users as you want.

Learn more: Add or remove users from your plan.

Edit, re-invite, deactivate, or delete a user

In the user overview, you'll find an action button on the right side of each row next to the name. From there, you can Edit, Re-invite, Deactivate, or Delete.

Deactivated users remain assigned to existing projects and tasks initially. To remove them completely, manually remove them from the projects and tasks. Once deactivated users are removed, they can't be assigned to any projects or tasks anymore.

Deletion is permanent and cannot be undone. Deleting can result in data loss. Deactivate a user instead of deleting them to preserve data.

When users are deleted, they are automatically removed from all projects and tasks they were assigned to.

Deactivating or deleting users in the Users module does not automatically reduce the number of licenses you've purchased. To reduce licenses, you need to update your plan.


User details, projects, time, and absences

Open user details and contact information

  1. Click the action button next to the user > Edit

  2. A popup opens: Here you can add or edit title, name, position, birthday, and tags.

  3. In the popup, switch from Details to the Contact tab to add or edit contact information.

User profile and active projects

Select a user by clicking them in the user overview: You'll go to the Details tab with the user's profile. Add teams or tags. There's also an action button available at the top right.

Below that, you'll see all active projects where the user is part of the project team and which are in a running status.

View all of a user's projects

In the user Profile, select the Projects tab. You'll see an overview of all projects the user is a member of.

Here you can search for projects just like in the general project list, group them, filter them, set which columns to display, and export the projects.

View a user's time and absences

In the user Profile, switch to the Time tab. You'll see an overview of all time entries the user has recorded.

Record time for a user

  1. Click + Time at the top left.

  2. Record the time in the time tracking window (the relevant user is already pre-selected).

This works if you have the appropriate permissions to record time for other users (write access to project time). Learn more: Record time.

Totals at a glance

Above the list of time entries, you'll see a summary of recorded time and absences.

  • Total recorded time: broken down into billable and non-billable
  • Ready to bill: broken down into time to bill and billed time; use the + Invoice button here to jump directly to time reports and create an invoice (provided you've set up one of our invoicing tool integrations). The current month is automatically selected in the time report, but you can change this.
  • Absences: the total of absent days in the period; select Show to go to the list of absences (type, period, number of days)

Note: You'll only see absences once you've selected a time period.

Bar chart

The bar chart shows you how tracked time is distributed. When you hover over the bars with your mouse, you'll get more details depending on how you've grouped the data.

You can choose the time frame: day, week, month, quarter, year, or all time.

Group by activity, billability, project, or time period.


Best practices and important notes

  • Deactivate instead of delete if you want to keep data and avoid data loss. Deletion is permanent and should only be used if user data and access need to be completely removed.

  • License count stays the same: Deactivating or deleting in the Users module does not automatically reduce the number of licenses you've purchased. To reduce licenses, you need to actively update your plan.


FAQ

Can I just create users without sending an invitation?

No. Users in awork are always tied to accounts. You create them by sending invitations via email to unique, existing email addresses.

What's the difference between deactivating and deleting users?

Deactivated users remain assigned to existing projects and tasks until you manually remove them. Deleted users are automatically removed from all projects and tasks they were assigned to.

Are licenses automatically reduced when I deactivate or delete users?

No. Deactivating or deleting users in the Users menu does not automatically reduce the number of licenses you've purchased. To reduce licenses, you need to update your plan.

What happens to recorded time if a user is deleted?

The recorded time remains. The time entries will simply be displayed without being assigned to a user.

What's the difference between a user and an external user?

An external user has fewer rights and features in awork, but can be added for free. External users via awork Connect can participate in projects, for example freelancers or clients. Learn more: awork Connect – invite external partners.

How can I update my own user details and contact information?

You have two options:

  1. If you have the appropriate permissions, navigate to Users in the main menu, scroll to your profile, open the action button on the right, and select Edit.

  2. Click your profile picture at the bottom left of the main menu (or your initials), select Account Settings, and click the button below your user image Edit User.

Why is my account email address different from the one in my user details?

Your account email address is the email you use to log in to awork. Only you can edit this through your account. You can be in multiple awork workspaces with the same account.

In different workspaces, you have different users and can freely choose information like picture, name, position, and contact information. The email address in your user details can be used for notifications, for example, and doesn't affect your account or login.

Are there dummy users in awork?

No. There are no dummy users in awork in the sense of users that can be managed in awork but don't have an account. While you could use your own unused email addresses, those users still need to be booked.

Last updated HappySupportPowered by happysupport.ai
© 2026 HappySupport. All rights reserved.
HappySearch can make mistakes.

Sources

No articles yet

Search to see source articles