Manage Users
Invite users via email, sort and filter the user list by email, name, role, or status, and edit, deactivate, or delete users from your awork account in Settings
Users in awork are always tied to accounts. You can't simply create them - instead, you send invitations via email to unique, existing email addresses.
You'll find an overview of all users in Settings under Users.
How to use user management
Open the user overview
-
Navigate to Settings (gear icon in the bottom left of the main menu).
-
Select Users
Sort the list by email, name, position, role, status, weekly capacity - in ascending or descending order.
Choose which columns to display and use the filter icon to show filter options, so you can filter by various criteria.
Use the action button in the top right to export your user list.
Invite a new user
-
Click the + Add button in the top left.
-
Enter a unique, existing email address and send the invitation.
You need admin rights to invite new users, since this can affect your subscription.
To send invitations, you need to have enough users booked in your plan. If you don't, you'll see a message - the window will also show you how many more users you can invite.
During your free 14-day trial, you can invite as many users as you want.
Learn more: Add or remove users.
Edit, resend invitation to, deactivate, or delete a user
In the user overview, you'll find an action button to the right of the name in each row. You can use it to Edit, Resend invitation, Deactivate, or Delete.
Deactivated users initially remain assigned to existing projects and tasks. To remove them completely, you'll need to manually remove them from the projects and tasks. Once deactivated users have been removed, they can't be assigned to any projects or tasks.
Deletion is permanent and cannot be undone. Deleting can result in data loss. Deactivate a user instead of deleting them to keep your data.
When users are deleted, they're automatically removed from all projects and tasks they were assigned to.
Note about licenses: Deactivating and deleting users in the Users module does not automatically reduce your booked license count. To reduce licenses, you need to adjust your plan.
A deactivated or deleted user immediately loses access to this workspace and can no longer log in. Any private projects created in this workspace will also no longer be accessible.
User details, projects, time, and absences
Open user details and contact information
-
Click the action button next to the user > Edit
-
A popup opens: Here you can enter or edit title, name, position, birthday, and tags.
-
Switch from Details to the Contact tab in the popup to enter or edit contact information.
User profile and active projects
Select a user by clicking on them in the user overview: You'll go to the Details tab with the user's profile. Add teams or tags. There's also an action button in the top right here.
Below that, you'll see all active projects where the user is part of the project team and which have an ongoing status.
View all projects for a user
In the user profile, select the Projects tab. You'll see an overview of all projects the user is a member of.
Here you can search for projects just like in the general project list, group them, filter them, set which columns to display, and export the projects.
View time and absences for a user
Switch to the Time tab in the user profile. You'll see an overview of all time entries the user has recorded.
Record time for a user
-
Click + Time in the top left.
-
Record the time in the time tracking window (the corresponding user is already pre-selected).
This works if you have the appropriate rights to record time for other users (write access to project time). Learn more: Record time.
Totals at a glance
Above the time entries list, you'll see a summary of recorded time and absences.
- Total recorded time: divided into billable and non-billable
- Ready to bill: divided into time to be billed and already billed time; you can use the + Invoice button to jump directly to the time report and create an invoice (provided you've set up one of our invoicing tool integrations). The current month is automatically selected in the time report, which you can then adjust.
- Absences: the total of absent days in the time period; select Show to go to the list of absences (type, time period, number of days)
Note: You'll only see absences after you've selected a time period.
Bar chart
The bar chart shows you how tracked time is divided up. When you hover over the bars with your mouse, you'll get more details - depending on how you're grouping.
You can choose the time frame: day, week, month, quarter, year, or all time.
Group by activity, billability, project, or time period.
Best practices and important notes
-
Deactivate instead of delete if you want to keep your data and avoid data loss. Deletion is permanent and should only be used when you want to completely remove user data and access.
-
License count stays the same: Deactivating or deleting in the Users module does not automatically reduce your booked license count. To reduce licenses, you need to actively adjust your plan.
FAQ
Can I simply create users without sending an invitation?
No. Users in awork are always tied to accounts. You create them by sending invitations via email to unique, existing email addresses.
What's the difference between deactivating and deleting users?
Deactivated users remain assigned to existing projects and tasks until you manually remove them. Deleted users are automatically removed from all projects and tasks they were assigned to.
Are licenses automatically reduced when I deactivate or delete users?
No. Deactivating and deleting users in the Users menu does not automatically reduce your booked license count. To reduce licenses, you need to adjust your plan.
What happens to recorded time when a user is deleted?
The recorded time remains. The time entries will simply be displayed without assignment to a user.
What's the difference between a user and an external user?
An external user has fewer rights and features in awork, but can be added for free. External users via awork Connect can participate in projects - for example, freelancers or clients. Learn more: awork Connect - invite external partners.
How can I update my own user details and contact information?
You have two options:
-
If you have the appropriate permissions, navigate to Users in the main menu, scroll to your profile, open the action button on the right, and select Edit.
-
Click your profile picture in the bottom left of the main menu (or your initials), select Account Settings, and click the Edit User button below your user image.
Why is my account email address different from the one in my user details?
Your account email address is the email you use to log into awork. Only you can edit this through your account. You can be in multiple awork workspaces with the same account.
In different workspaces, you have different users and can choose information like picture, name, position, and contact details freely. The email address in your user details can be used for notifications, for example, and doesn't affect your account or login.
Can a deactivated or deleted user still log in?
No. You can only log into awork with an active user profile that belongs to at least one workspace. A deactivated or deleted user can no longer access that workspace. If the user has their own separate workspace, they can still log in there.
Are there dummy users in awork?
No. There are no dummy users in awork - users who can be managed in awork but don't have an account. While you could use your own unused email addresses, the users still need to be booked.
