Creating Time Reports

In time reports, you can analyze recorded times in detail - with filters, groupings, and summations. From here, you can create timesheets, export times, mark times as billed, or initiate invoices through integrated invoicing tools.

🔐 Global time reports are available starting with the Professional plan.


Key benefits and use cases

  • Analyze times strategically through filters, grouping, summation, and sorting

  • Create timesheets via print/PDF directly from the report

  • Export data as Excel (.xlsx) or as a PDF extract

  • Edit times individually or in bulk (depending on permission management)

  • Support billing processes through "Mark as billed" and "Generate invoice"


The Time Reports menu

You'll find Time Reports in the main menu under Workspace.

  • My Reports contains all reports you've created

  • Shared Reports contains reports that other users have shared with you (this section only appears if there are reports there)

In the overview, you can create, search, and sort reports (by name or last edited date, in ascending or descending order).

Duplicate, share, and delete reports

Via the action button on the right in the respective row of a saved time report, the following options are available:

  • Duplicate

  • Share report

  • Delete

The available options may vary depending on permission management, since users only see data they have access to.

Note: Shared reports can only be deleted by the report creator or an admin.


How to create and save reports

  1. Navigate to Time Reports

  2. Click + Report in the top left or select one of the preconfigured Quick Reports: Monthly recording overview, Recorded vs planned, Billability per user, Ready for invoicing

  3. Set a name for the report in the top left

  4. Click Save report in the top right

You don't need to save your report to export or create invoices.

Tip: You can display saved time reports as a Dashboard widget in your home area.


Configuring a time report

The report options are divided into four areas:

  1. Time range

  2. Data filters

  3. Sorting and grouping

  4. Displayed columns

Time range

Select the time period used in the report. awork distinguishes between relative and absolute options:

  • Absolute time range (e.g., August): The report always shows data for this month, but you can switch between months manually at the top

  • Relative time range (e.g., This month): The current month is always displayed

Data filters

You can filter by the following criteria:

  • User

  • Project

  • Tags

  • Activity

  • Billing status

  • Time entry notes

All filters can be combined. An AND operation is always performed (e.g., billed time entries and a specific activity).

Sorting and grouping

Here you define how your list is structured:

  • Select grouping (groups appear as headings in the list)

  • Choose summation field (e.g., sum by user and expand entries below)

  • Sort list by (ascending or descending, also by fields you don't display)

  • Set rounding (how entries are rounded): Here you can define how entries are rounded. There are two options:

    • Nearest: round to the next full unit up or down (15 min., 30 min. or hour). For example, 1:17 becomes 1:15
    • Round up to: the next larger value is always used, e.g., 1:17 becomes 1:30.

Note: When grouping or summing by task list, you should set a primary list for the time report if tasks are in multiple task lists.

Choose displayed columns

Define which columns are displayed in the table. To do this, click the Columns icon below the summary on the right side above the time entries.

Only columns available for selection can be displayed. It's not possible to create additional columns.


Charts in the summary

In the summary, you see totals by billability:

  • Total (Purple) Sum of all times in the selected period

  • Billable (Yellow) Recorded times that are billable

  • Billed (Green) Recorded times that are billable and have been billed

  • Not billable (Red) Recorded times that are not billable

There are 2 settings for the chart: bar chart or matrix as well as pie chart. awork automatically displays the bar chart when data is not grouped. For grouped data, the matrix view is used automatically.

Bar chart

When the report is not grouped, bars are displayed at the height of the recorded times. When you hover your mouse over an entry, you see the date and value.

Matrix

When the report is grouped, a matrix is displayed. The rows correspond to the groups. In the matrix there are entries for the units under consideration (e.g., days) and at the end the total sum for each group. When you hover your mouse over an entry, you see the date and value.

For better readability, all values are rounded to the nearest full hour when there isn't enough space. When you hover, you see the exact value.

Pie chart

  • When the report is not grouped, the chart shows the ratio of non-billable, not yet billed, and already billed times.
  • When the report is grouped, the ratio of group totals is displayed. On hover, you see the value and percentage.

Exporting time reports

1. As a timesheet in PDF format

You can print your report or save it as a PDF.

  1. Filter the report the way you need it

  2. Click the Document icon in the top right

  3. Use your browser's print window to print or save as PDF

Groups, totals, and column filters are taken into account.

Tip: You can add your logo under Settings > General so it appears on the PDF.

2. As a table in Excel format (.xlsx)

You can export raw data or create a formatted export. To do this, click the download icon in the top right.

Tip: Via the options you can format the export (only available for PDF format and formatted export) by filtering, grouping, summing, or sorting data. Also set columns and decide how data should be rounded.


How to edit times in time reports

Edit individual times

Click the action button on the right side of a time entry > Edit to open the edit window.

Edit multiple times at once

You can edit multiple times at once (e.g., to mark them as billed). Taking your permissions in Permission Management into account, you can change activity, project, task, or user for multiple time entries at once, or delete time entries.

  1. Hover over the left edge next to the time entries or group titles and select individual times or entire groups via the checkboxes.

  2. Use the floating action bar at the bottom to perform actions or clear the selection

Note: Currently, not all time entries can be selected with a single click. With grouping, you can select time entries per grouping with one click.


Mark times as billed

  1. Click the Dollar icon in the top right

  2. Select Mark as billed

Note: Only times that haven't been marked as billed yet can be transferred to invoices.


How to create invoices from time reports

Times are billed through integrated invoicing tools.

  1. Click the Dollar icon in the top right

  2. Select Generate invoice

Note: Invoiced times generally cannot be edited anymore.

Only admins can change a time marked as billed back to not billed, so the time can be edited again.

Learn more about billing times.


FAQ

Are pauses (paused times) displayed in the time report?

Paused times are initially not displayed in the report. If you click Edit via the action button of a time tracking entry, you can view the paused time/duration. The paused time cannot be changed but can be deleted. It can only be deleted if the time entry is not yet marked as billed. Find more information here.

Can I analyze the planned effort of tasks?

Yes. There's a column you can add for this. In this column you see the total planned effort of a task - independent of the selected time period of the report.

Example: If a task has a total planned effort of 10 hours, but the report only covers the current month, the full 10 hours are still displayed.

Why is a URL visible in my PDF file?

If, for example, a link is visible at the bottom of the PDF, it's related to your print settings. Disable this information in the print window.

Do I need to save a report to export or generate an invoice?

No. You don't need to save your report to export or create invoices.

Who can delete shared reports?

Shared reports can only be deleted by the report creator or an admin.

Last updated HappySupportPowered by happysupport.ai
© 2026 HappySupport. All rights reserved.