Skip to main content
Define time tracking settings

Depending on the plan, various time tracking settings can be made here.

Merle Hecht avatar
Written by Merle Hecht
Updated over a week ago

The time tracking settings are only available in the Business plan. If you are in the Basic Plan, the time tracking settings are reset and cannot be adjusted, see here.

The time tracking settings allow you to define for which projects or time periods can be recorded and edited.

You will find the settings under Settings > General > Time tracking settings.

☝️Hint: Users of the admin group are not affected by the settings and can edit, create or delete times at any time. This way, corrections can still be made on completed projects without having to cancel the settings. The exception here is deactivating time tracking, this setting also applies to all admins.

Disabling time tracking

In the Enterprise plan, admins have the option of disabling time tracking for all users. If this setting is active, all users can no longer track any times.

Prevent time recording on completed projects

If this setting is active, time can no longer be recorded on completed projects, and the times on these projects can no longer be edited.

Prevent time recording in the future

This setting prevents the recording of times that are further in the future than today.

Restrict time recording into the past

This option allows you to be able to restrict the tracking and editing of times only for a certain number of days into the past. The corresponding value is given in days.

Zero days means that times may only be recorded for today. Times before this period cannot be edited. If the field is empty, times may be created and edited in the past as long as they are not restricted by one of the other settings.

☝️Hint: The billing status (billable / not billable) can still be edited despite the restriction, so that times can also be billed after the project has been completed and the corresponding status is set.

10-hour limit for time recording

The German Working Hours Act (ArbZG) stipulates that a maximum of 10 hours may be worked per day:

Arbeitszeitgesetz ArbZG, § 3 Working Hours of Employees.

The working time of employees may not exceed eight hours per working day.

It may only be extended up to ten hours if an average of eight hours per working day is not exceeded within six calendar months or within 24 weeks.

Therefore, if you want to limit the time tracking in your awork workspace to 10h per day to remind your employees or just to keep your time tracking data "clean", you can activate this setting.

If this setting is active, it will immediately affect all possibilities of creating or editing times:

  • Start/Stop timer

  • Editing window

  • Day & week view

  • Quick Actions

  • Time reports

  • Mobile app

Times that have already been recorded are only affected by this when they are edited.

☝️Hint: As mentioned at the beginning of the article, users of the admin group can still create and edit times over 10h because they are not affected by this restriction.

Allow time tracking only with a project

If you want that only times are tracked in your workspace that are also assigned to a project, you can enforce this with this setting. For all users who are not in the admin role, the Project field becomes mandatory when creating or editing times.

If the setting is active, it will also affect the stopwatch. Only once the project is selected, the timer will start.

Entering times on private tasks will also no longer be possible with this setting.

Did this answer your question?