Skip to main content

Configure Time Tracking Settings

Configure time tracking restrictions in your workspace to control when and where time entries can be recorded.

With time tracking settings, you get to decide whether and for which projects or time periods time entries can be recorded and edited.

🔐 Available from the Professional Plan onwards.

Important: Admins are not affected by these restrictions and can create, edit, or delete time entries at any time.

Exception: Disable time tracking applies to Admins as well.


Key Benefits and Use Cases

  • Protect time entries by restricting entries on completed projects

  • Limit time periods for entries in the future or past

  • Cap working hours with an optional 10-hour daily limit

  • Require project assignment by allowing time entries only with an assigned project


How to Use Time Tracking Settings

  1. Go to Settings (gear icon in the bottom left of the main menu) > Workspace > Time Tracking
  2. Enable or disable the options you want

Disable Time Tracking

When this setting is active, no time entries can be recorded.

This affects all users in the workspace, including Admins.

Prevent Time Tracking on Completed Projects

This setting disables time recording on completed projects. Time entries on these projects also can't be edited anymore.

Prevent Time Tracking in the Future

This setting prevents recording time entries that are further in the future than today.

Limit Time Tracking and Editing to the Past

Here you can allow recording and editing of time entries only for a specific number of days in the past (specified in days).

Enter 0 (days in the past) if time entries can only be recorded for today.

The billable status (Billed / Billable) can still be edited despite this restriction, so time entries can be billed even after project completion.

Limit Time Tracking to Max. 10 Hours per Day

When this setting is active, it applies immediately to all ways of creating or editing time entries:

  • Start/Stop timer

  • Edit window

  • Day & week view

  • Quick actions

  • Time reports

  • Mobile app

Already recorded time entries are only affected when being edited.

Allow Time Tracking Only with a Project

If you want to ensure that only time entries assigned to a project can be recorded in your workspace, you can enforce this with this setting.

  • For all users without Admin role, the "Project" field becomes mandatory when creating or editing time entries.
  • The timer only starts once a project is selected.
  • Recording time entries on private tasks is no longer possible.

FAQ

Where do I find the time tracking settings?

Under Settings (gear icon in the bottom left of the main menu) > Workspace > Time Tracking.

Are Admins affected by the restrictions?

No. Users in the Admin group can create, edit, or delete time entries at any time. Exception: If time tracking is disabled, this also applies to Admins.

What does "0 days" mean for the past restriction?

Then time entries can only be recorded for today. Time entries before this period can't be edited anymore.

Can I change the billable status despite the past restriction?

Yes. The status (Billed / Billable) can be edited even with the past restriction, so that time entries can be billed after project completion.

Last updated HappySupportPowered by happysupport.ai
© 2026 HappySupport. All rights reserved.
HappySearch can make mistakes.

Sources

No articles yet

Search to see source articles