To easily organize tasks in projects, create task lists in the Tasks tab and the Lists view. In the lists, you're able to create multiple tasks to be grouped together.
Create a new list
There are three ways to create a new task list in a project.
If you don't have a list in the project yet, click on the dashed box to create a new list.
Click the green add button at the top left and then select Add task list.
Hover with the mouse pointer below an existing list to insert a new one after this list (or between two lists).
Give a name to your new list.
Change the list order
The order of the lists can be adjusted by drag & drop. Click on the header of a list (where the list name is) and drag the list to the desired position.
Alternatively, edit the order by clicking on the list icon Manage task lists in the upper left corner. In the window that opens, you can see all the lists and move them in their order by drag & drop.
☝ hint: Changing the order of tasks within a list is not possible in the "Without list", because this list is technically not a list.
Add or move tasks to lists
A task can be in several lists at the same time, or in no list. However, it always remains the same task. For example, if it is completed, it will be displayed as completed in all lists.
When you create a new task from the task window, you have an Add to lists field that allows you to select the lists in which the task should appear.
This can also be done on existing tasks or in the task details using the Lists field.
You can also create a new task directly via the Add task row of any list.
If you hover between two tasks with the mouse pointer and click on the text Add task here, you create tasks between existing tasks in the list.
☝ Hint: You can also move single tasks to another project. To do this, simply edit the task via the action button and change the project there.
Drag & drop and sorting tasks
You can drag and drop tasks between lists, or simply change their order.
If you move a task between two lists, awork will ask you at the bottom of the screen if you want to move the tasks or just additionally see them in the new list. By confirming, the task will appear in both lists.
Quick actions in lists
Some actions can be performed directly in lists. It's possible to
Edit the status of a task
Move the task to another list
Change the deadline of a task
Start a time tracking for a task
Change the user of a task
Edit further details of a task
Show work progress of the entire list
As soon as the mouse pointer is moved over a list, it shows the current progress. This can be displayed in two ways. The change is done by clicking on the progress:
Completed tasks / Existing tasks
Tracked time / Planned time
Delete or archive unused lists
Hide the tasks of a list by clicking on the arrow icon in the top right corner of the header.
If you don't want to show the whole list anymore, you can delete or archive it. For that, click on the action button in the list.
If you choose the Archive option, the list will be hidden. However, only lists that don't contain any open tasks can be archived. If there are still open tasks in the list, you will get the following options for handling the tasks:
Move tasks to another list
Move tasks to Without list
Set tasks to done
Manage the tasks of the project by clicking on the list icon in the header.
By clicking the action button next to the archived list you have the option to unarchive the list, to delete tasks or to delete the list permanently.
Lists on large screens
On large screens, your task view expands to include multiple columns that give you even more information at a glance.
In addition, a mini map is displayed on the right side of the screen, which shows a bird's eye view of all tasks and lists. Here you can quickly see where you are with your view and can scroll to the task lists by clicking on the respective area of the mini map.
☝ hint: The minimap is only displayed if the menu on the left is hidden and no other view is open. For example, if a task with its details is open next to the list view (split view), the minimap will NOT be displayed. In addition, a screen resolution of at least 1600p is required.
Open task details
To open the detail view, click on the task name in the list, then the task opens on the right side. If your awork window is too small for the split view of lists and details, you will automatically navigate to the task details.
Learn more about task details.
Import task templates
You can import ready-made task templates to your projects. Learn more about the use of task templates here.
Edit multiple tasks at the same time
Edit multiple tasks of a project at the same time and, for example, move them to another project or delete them. Learn more about editing multiple tasks at once.
Duplicate task list incl. tasks
Using the action menu in the upper right corner of a task list you can duplicate an entire task list. Hidden completed tasks will be duplicated as well. Similar to copying single tasks, subtasks, descriptions, attachments, etc. will be mutcopied.
The duplicated list will appear below the original list along with all tasks.
Move task list to another project
You can use the action menu in the upper right corner of a task list to move the entire list including the tasks to another project. Select the project. Since the task statuses in the new project can be different, you must now choose in which new status your existing tasks should get. After saving, the entire list is automatically moved and disappears from the project.
Show completed tasks
If you complete a task in a project, it will be automatically hidden in the list view after the next reload. At the top left above the lists you will find the icon for displaying the completed tasks. Here you get two options:
Show recently completed tasks
Here only the completed tasks are loaded and displayed that were completed within the last 30 days. It is advisable to use this setting if you have ongoing projects that you use as a kind of ticketing and hundreds of tasks accumulate over time.
Show all tasks
Here all completed tasks of the project are loaded and displayed.
Choose the option that fits your project. awork automatically remembers the setting for your user and the project.