Skip to main content
All Collectionsawork explained in detailTasks
Private tasks vs. project tasks
Private tasks vs. project tasks

Private tasks can only be seen by yourself unless you give them to another user.

Merle Hecht avatar
Written by Merle Hecht
Updated this week

In awork you can create your own private tasks for your daily work or you can create tasks in projects. But what makes the difference?

Private tasks

Private tasks can only be seen by yourself, unless you give them to another user. You can pass them on by assigning the wanted task to another user. You will still be able to see this task in your task filter My Tasks.

โ˜๏ธHint: Other users don't have access to your private tasks. Thus, assigning multiple users to a private task is not enabled.

All your private, open tasks are displayed in your task filter My Tasks. If you group the overview by project, you have a separate list for your private tasks, in which you can also sort tasks freely by drag & drop.

Private tasks can't belong to specially created task lists. Also, there is no multi-assignment or editing task statuses possible.

You create a private task by creating a task via the action button or via shortcut and then not selecting a project here. This task is then automatically a private task. In addition, you can display a separate list for your private tasks in your task filter My tasks (group by project), in which you can then also create new private tasks.

โ˜๏ธHint: The task statuses are displayed in the language that was selected when the workspace was created. Unfortunately, no changes can be made here.

Project tasks

Project tasks are tasks that have a project reference. As soon as you create a task in a project reference or assign a private task to a project, it will be moved to the project. All users who are allowed to see the tasks of the project can also see this task then.

Did this answer your question?