The Workload Overview
View your team's capacity utilization in the Workload Overview, filter by users or teams, and identify scheduling bottlenecks before they impact projects
The Workload Overview shows you your team's capacity utilization over a timeline.
The utilization is calculated intelligently from planned tasks, bookings, and appointments, and takes into account the time already tracked for tasks.
🔐 The Workload area can be used starting with the Standard plan.
Key benefits and use cases
The Workload Overview helps you mainly to:
-
Recognize capacity utilization over time and spot bottlenecks early
-
Check capacity for time periods - for individual users or teams
How the workload view works
The workload view always starts with today and only looks ahead to the future:
-
Only currently open tasks and projects are included.
-
Remaining effort from tasks is projected into the future (from today to the end of the task). Today plays an important role in determining how the remaining effort is distributed across the time period.
You can learn more about this here.
Important: Even if a task (with start and end date) has no planned effort, it will still be displayed in the Workload within the Planner. It will be shown, but not included in the workload calculation.
How to use the Workload Overview
Opening the Workload Overview
-
Open the Planner in the main menu (under Workspace)
-
Select the Users view
Filter displayed users
First, set a filter. If no filter is set, only your own user will be displayed.
-
Click on Filter at the top of the User sidebar
-
Select one or more options (you can combine them freely):
-
Individual users
-
Teams (all users in the team)
-
Tags (all users from the previous filters who also have one of the selected tags)
Tip: Tags are great for skill management. Maintain your users' tags so you can filter by them in the Planner or search for them when assigning people to tasks.
Understanding weekly work hours and available capacity
The dashed line in the workload chart shows the available capacity of your users.
-
Capacity per weekday can be set from 0-12 hours
-
0 hours means: The person does not work on that day
-
the number next to the name is the weekly capacity in hours
Planned time from tasks and bookings is distributed proportionally only to available days, depending on the work hours for that particular day.
Adjust weekly capacity and regional holidays
-
In the Users view of the Planner, click on the weekly capacity in hours to the right of the username
-
Set the capacity for each weekday - between 0 and 12 hours each.
-
Adjust the holiday region in the dropdown menu below
Learn more about regional holidays and absences in this article.
Capacity planning in the Workload Overview
Check free capacity for a time period
- Hover over a day in the workload chart.
- Click and drag with your mouse to mark a time period in the Planner. Important: Grab the drag button directly under the date.
You'll then see:
-
Free capacity per user in the selected time period
-
Total capacity for all selected users (taking into account overbookings, tasks, and absences)
Tip: Click the Sort by Availability icon to sort free capacity by availability.
View tasks, bookings, and appointments per day
To see which projects, tasks, bookings, and appointments are scheduled for a user, hover over that day in the workload chart. There you'll see how the workload for that day is composed.
You can expand the user row using the small arrow button (tooltip Expand to see projects and tasks).
When expanded, you'll see all absences, tasks, and bookings (with start and end times) that are scheduled.
You won't see appointments and calendar tasks in this view.
Identify absences
In the workload chart, you can also see when your users have planned absences. Learn more about this here.
Create new tasks, bookings, and absences (click and drag)
Use click and drag in a user's row to create new entries. You can move or extend existing entries.
View settings in the Users view
Click on Settings in the top right of the Users view in the Planner. A pop-up with options will open.
These settings are available:
-
Show Workload View - show or hide workload charts. If you hide the workload, all user rows are automatically expanded
-
Show completed tasks - completed tasks are displayed in the timeline (Users view)
-
Show tasks from completed projects - tasks from completed projects are displayed in the timeline (Users view)
-
Show recurring tasks - recurring tasks are displayed in the timeline (Users view)
These settings only apply to your own account and have no impact on the workload calculation.
Bulk editing in the timeline
Using the cursor button in the floating action bar at the bottom, you can enable bulk editing of tasks and bookings. The timeline then switches to selection mode.
When selection mode is active (cursor button enabled/highlighted in purple), you can:
-
Select elements by simply clicking them (blue border)
-
Move multiple elements at once: If you move a task or booking, all selected elements will be moved in the same direction and by the same time period
-
Perform actions on this selection via the action button in the action bar
- Autofix - AI moves selected tasks in the timeline and optimizes the duration so they fit in the workload without causing overbooking. The AI tries to keep the element as close as possible to its current location. With multiple elements, they're arranged sequentially (earliest first). Currently only available for elements with a single assignee. If the AI finds no optimal solution, the element stays in its original position
- Edit with AI - a pop-up opens where you can enter a prompt to move selected elements (e.g., to next month)
- Move, Change status, Add/remove assignees
-
Clear the selection by clicking the trash icon in the action bar
Note: When selection mode is active, tasks cannot be opened because clicking is used for selection.
Bulk editing is only available in the Planner for the Users view and the Tasks timeline of a project - not in the Projects overview.
Color coding by projects
You can assign a color to projects. This is done via the Color option in the action menu of a project.
Projects, tasks, and bookings are displayed with a border in this color in the Projects, Tasks, and Projects-Users timeline, as well as in the User workload view. This makes it easier for you to distinguish entries or recognize them as related.
FAQ
Why is a task or booking not displayed?
This can happen if you don't have permission to see the task or its related project. Another reason could be that the project is already completed or cancelled. Tasks and bookings from these projects are no longer displayed in the Workload timeline and are not included in the calculation.
Does the Workload Overview show the past?
No, the workload view always starts with today and only looks ahead to the future. Only currently open tasks and projects are included. Remaining effort from tasks is projected into the future (from today to the end of the task).
Are tasks without planned effort calculated in the workload?
Tasks without planned effort are generally displayed in the Workload within the Planner if they have a start and end date, but are not included in the workload calculation.
Do view settings affect other users or the workload calculation?
View settings only apply to your own account and have no impact on the workload calculation.
