The Planner
Organize projects and tasks on an interactive timeline, drag and drop to reschedule, and monitor team workload across days and weeks in Planner view
The Planner brings project coordination, tasks, and your team together in one place. You plan work along a timeline, keeping an eye on capacity and availability for the coming days, weeks, and months.
Key Benefits and Use Cases
-
See projects on a timeline (including start and end dates)
-
Move work with drag and drop and quickly reschedule
-
Check team workload in the user view (Workload)
-
Find planning risks with the Planner checklist (e.g., deadlines, absences, overbooking)
-
Schedule tasks quickly via the tasks sidebar (including filters)
How to Use the Planner
Opening the Planner
- Select the Planner directly from the main menu on the left (Workspace section)
- Or open a project's timeline, click the action button in the top right > Open in Planner
Choose between the Projects or User view at the top center.
The Project Timeline
In the Projects section, you work with projects and their timelines.
-
Project list on the left and timeline on the right (only visible when start & end dates are set)
-
Search, filter, sort, and group and show or hide project columns (The view remembers your last filter selections.)
-
Open a project to see the task timeline or project users and workload. To return to the project overview, close the selected project at the top center by clicking Close.
-
Switch to project details (you leave the Planner in doing so)
-
Drag and drop a project in the timeline to your desired date. Select the number of days to shift (the value can also be negative) and activate the following options as needed:
- Move tasks
- Ignore completed tasks
- Move bookings
- Move milestones
The User View (Workload)
In the User section, you see the workload of the users in your selected filter and get an overview of your team's capacity.
-
Without a filter, only your own user is displayed
-
Within a project, only users who have been added to the project are displayed
Find more details here: Workload Overview
Planner Checklist
The Planner checklist supports you in your planning process. When generating it, awork automatically searches your data for items you should review, such as upcoming project and task deadlines, milestones, absences, and overboooked users.
-
Select the Checklist in the top right
-
Open Settings in the top right via the gear icon
-
Set the time period (e.g., the next 7 days) and optionally task filters
-
Click Generate
-
Click on an entry to jump directly to the corresponding spot in the timeline
Projects and users are searched using the same filters you set in the Planner views.
Checked items remain as long as you generate the checklist again for the same time period. If the time period is outdated, a new list is generated.
The checklist is individual to each user, applies only to you, and is based on your own filters.
Tasks Sidebar
You can display the tasks sidebar in the Planner in the user view (for a project or in the main view) on the left edge. It's divided into 3 sections:
- the standard filters
-
New: Tasks assigned to you or created for you within the last 7 days
-
Mine: All tasks assigned to you (private & from projects)
-
Private: Your private tasks
- the list of your currently active projects
- your task filters
Click on a section (standard filter, project, or task filter) to load tasks
Use the arrow at the top left to return to the overview.
Show Completed Tasks
Completed tasks are initially hidden. You can show them in the list at any time using the icon with double checkmarks.
Show Already Scheduled Tasks
Already scheduled tasks are automatically hidden. You can display them again using the calendar icon with a checkmark (tooltip: Scheduled visible).
You can identify fully scheduled tasks by the purple checkbox in the list.
Note: In the timeline view, scheduled means the task has a start & end date and is therefore visible in the timeline.
Group, Sort, and Search the Tasks List
You can group, sort, and search the task list using the icons above the list.
This only works for filters. If you open a project in the sidebar, it's grouped and sorted by default the way you know it from the project itself.
Check Availability
-
Select a time period in the workload view of a user
-
Choose the action Check availability
-
See the availability of the displayed people as a bar
To view availability, you need read permissions for user planning.
FAQ
Can I Adjust Weekly Working Hours in the Planner?
Yes. You can change your own weekly working hours via your account settings or, with the appropriate permissions, change a user's capacity directly in the Planner in the workload view. To do this, click on the displayed total working hours and adjust the hours. You can also change the holiday region here.
Why Do I Only See Myself in the User View?
If no filter is set, the user view only displays your own user.
Does the Planner Checklist Apply to My Entire Team?
No. The checklist is individual to each user, applies only to you, and is based on your own filters.
Can the Planner View Be Exported?
No, the Planner cannot be exported directly.
